COLORED PENCIL DEMO

                                                     COSTA DEL SOL SCENE

 

I taught a short workshop at Art on the Green in Conway last week to two very good artists on drawing with colored pencil.  They didn’t finish their first drawing, since it takes lots of time to do colored pencil work.  Above is the 9 x 12″ drawing I started as a demo (I didn’t get very far either).  So I thought I would work on this as home and blog the progression.

This is an image of beached boats that I took in Spain several years ago.  I left out one of the boats and corrected the left side of the photo to show the entire boat on the left.  As you can tell, the beach area has only one layer of colored pencil at the moment.  There was a lot of straw or thin strips of wood in the sand, so I used a sharp instrument to scratch in that suggestion before I started. I also scratched in my signature so that it would show up when completed.

The top part of the drawing is the sea with the red boat moored in it.  There are probably four layers of colored pencil in this section already, but it is not complete as yet.  I haven’t figured out as yet how to show the bits of surf.  I will work on this, and write another blog sometime soon.  Keep drawing!

 

 

 

 

About pastelanne

I am a professional artist and art teacher, receiving my formal art education at the Kansas City Art Institute and the University of Arkansas. I taught high school art and humanities, earned a doctorate in secondary education, and with my husband, reared eight children! Even after retirement in 1993, I have continued to teach children, teenagers, and adults as well as studying under well known teachers. My media are pen and ink, watermedia, pastel, and colored pencil. Because of all my experiences and guidance from my teachers and mentors, I have a lot of suggestions, tips, and techniques to share with others. This then is the reason for my blog: to pass on some of this knowledge to other artists and to 'wanna be" artists. I intend to post at least three times a week. The first group will be compositional ideas, the second group will be sketchbook ideas, and the third group will be some tips and techniques in particular media. I sincerely hope you will find some good advice in some of these posts!

Posted on August 14, 2017, in IDEAS. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let me know what you think about this suggestion.

